26th International Symposium on Gas Kinetics and Related Phenomena

Polanyi Award Recipient 2020

We congratulate the recipient of the 2020 Polanyi Award,

Stephen J. Klippenstein, Argonne National Laboratory, USA      

Award History

The Polanyi medal is awarded every two years at the International Symposium on Gas Kinetics. The recipient is chosen by the Committee of the Gas Kinetics Group of the Faraday Division of the Royal Society of Chemistry, and is someone who has made outstanding contributions to the field of Gas Kinetics.

The Polanyi medal is named after Professor Michael Polanyi, 1891-1976, whose research helped to define the modern subject of gas kinetics and reaction dynamics. A native of Hungary, Polanyi received his PhD from Budapest University in 1917 on the subject of thermodynamics of adsorption. After working in Berlin, Polanyi emigrated to England in 1933 to become Professor of Physcial Chemistry at Manchester University, a position he held until 1948, when he moved to philosophy and became Professor of Social Science, also at Manchester.

In 1959 he became a Senior Research Fellow at Merton College, Oxford. Polanyi published over 200 scientific papers between 1916-1948 on a wide range of topics: adsorption, reaction kinetics, and x-ray diffraction to name a few. Polanyi's laboratory at Manchester attracted students and established scientists from all over the world. After the 2nd world war, Polanyi increasingly turned his attention from science to economics and Philosophy.

Previous Recipients

2018 Barbara Finlayson-Pitts University of California, Irvine, USA
2016 James Anderson Harvard University, USA
2014 Craig Taatjes Sandia National Laboratory, USA
2012 Mario J. Molina University of California, San Diego, USA
2010 Stephen R. Leone University of California, Berkeley, USA
2008 Piergiorgio Casavecchia University of Perugia, Italy
2006 Horst Hippler University of Karlsruhe, Germany
2004 David Clary University of Oxford, UK
2002 Gus Hancock University of Oxford, UK
2000 Jürgen Wolfrum University of Heidelberg, Germany
1998 A. R. Ravishankara National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, USA
1996 John Simons University of Oxford, UK
1994 Michael J. Pilling University of Leeds, UK
1992 Jürgen Troe University of Göttingen, Germany
1990 Ian W. M. Smith University of Birmingham, UK
1988 John C. Polanyi University of Toronto, Canada
1987 Frederick Kaufmann University of Pittsburgh, USA
1986 Sidney W. Benson University of Southern California Los Angeles, USA
1984 B. Seymour Rabinovitch University of Washington, USA
1982 Brian Thrush University of Cambridge, UK
1981 Dudley Herschbach Harvard University, USA
1979 Richard Zare Stanford University, USA